I’m Done Praying

20150212_155348

“A voice is heard in Ramah, weeping and great mourning, Rachel weeping for her children and refusing to be comforted, because they are no more.”

Today I slept in for a minute. My body after two days of intense training felt exhausted from the exercises. I went to the club house to watch some sports talk shows and to get a cup of coffee. While watching some of the Olympic activities I flipped the channel to CNN and there it was. Another mass shooting at a Florida high school. I watched for a minute maybe ten minutes and then changed the channel. I’m sick of it. Yes we have the answers but cowards, liars and greedy bastards resides in our halls of Congress.

I’m at a point where I don’t believe we will see change until some of the Congressmen and women’s children grandchildren are laying on slabs from an attack like this one. I don’t desire to hear prayers, blessings, blah, blah, blah. I don’t like CNN exploits people who are going through this tragedy by putting them on air to get some emotional clicks, views or whatever. It comes across crass and false when Wolf or Anderson Cooper ask questions like “how are you holding up, what were you thinking when this was happening”  These are questions to elicit emotions from the interviewer and hold others hostage emotionally as they drag the persons through an ordeal that just happened.

The cable news is so fast in wanting to interview people they don’t give them a time to grieve or even come to terms with what has happened and still is happening. I find the media, society is more of the issue when we look at what happens after a mass shooting. The talking heads from law enforcement to senators to the children involved as well as the parents it’s all emotional blackmail at its worst. I turned it off. Yes I care what has happened and I’m concerned for the lives of children. I have grand children so this does hit home. I worry about their safety in school when I see things like this on the news.

What I will not do is get sucked into watching people emotionally racked over coals just after something like this when no solution will be offered on how to stop it from happening again. I’m only interested in legislation to keep these guns out of the public hands and yes I do believe in the 2nd Amendment too. I believe in the right to bear arms but you don’t have a right to abuse this right as an all out I can get any type of gun even those whose only purpose is to inflict mass casualties.

God is not watching this mess. Neither am I. The NRA has such a strangle hold on our political system when it comes to gun control that is mafia like. Schools being shot up in suburbia is talked about like business as usual instead of plans to intervene, prevent this from happening. We are in the second month of 2018 and already this is the 18 gun violent shooting in schools this year. Think about that 18 and now on the news the governor of Florida Rick Scott is saying what he usually says offering counseling to the victim, funds for funeral services, monitoring GoFund Me sites but not talking about putting gun control legislation in place.

He is saying it is pure evil. What exactly is evil? A society that puts owning assault rifles over the safety as children, a society that quickly defends a lobbying force that has bought over half of Congress to stay silent.  Once again the refrain is too soon to talk about gun control and now we are talking about mental health. This isn’t a political matter it is one that deals with our humanity.

We keep failing the test.

Leave a comment